2018 Victorian Timpenny Championship at Portarlington Results

Place Sail No. Boat Name Type Skipper From

1 3038 Uome 670 Doug Carswell Bendigo Yacht Club

2 4085 Sparkling Burgandy 770 Trevor Turnbull Yarrawonga YC

3 3034 Bea Jay 670 David Marshall Portarlington YC

4 3201 Somerlead 670 Malcolm McDonald Portarlington YC

5 3078 Nartanda 670 James Mahoney Bendigo Yacht Club

6 3031 Juniper 670 Alex Shroud Gippsland Lakes YC

7 3041 Aussie Action 670 Rob Milner Blairgowrie YC

On completion of the first race on Saturday afternoon the fleet was hit with 40 knot wind from the north west which saw a quick drop of sails. Next Nartanda's motor broke with a small spring breaking on the emergency button and required a tow which was quite a challenge for the Portarlington patrol crew. It was successfully tow in extreme conditions and the occolades must be given to this Portarlington crew.

Somerlead motor also got washed off the boat as it crossed the entrance sand bar but the motor was saved by the backup rope. The boat was sweeped on to the sandy shore without damage.

Sunday was not without drama either as both Nartanda and Juniper broke their mainsail pulleys most probably caused by the Saturday storm.

The Regatta was run with great efficiency but it was disappointing the participation.